rugby world cup finals

Rugby World Cup Finals Quiz 2023

How much do you know about Rugby World Cup finals?

The Rugby World Cup Finals is the final match of the Rugby World Cup, a quadrennial international rugby union competition contested by the men’s national teams of the member unions of World Rugby. The event is one of the biggest and most exciting sporting events in the world. Millions of fans are tuning in from all over the globe to watch their favorite teams battle it out for the ultimate prize in rugby.

The first Rugby World Cup Finals took place in 1987. New Zealand defeated France in the final match to become the inaugural champions. Since then, the tournament has grown in size and popularity, with the most recent event, held in Japan in 2019, featuring a record 20 teams.

The Rugby World Cup Finals is a highly anticipated event. Teams from all over the world compete for the chance to play in the final match. The tournament is divided into eight pools, with each team playing against the other teams in their pool. The top two teams from each pool advance to the knockout stage. Then teams move to quarter-finals, semi-finals, and the final match.

Undoubtedly, the final match is the culmination of the tournament, with the two best teams in the world going head-to-head to determine the ultimate champion. The match is a highly competitive and physical affair. Both teams give it their all in order to emerge victorious.

Exciting and thrilling event

Over the years, the Rugby World Cup Finals has seen some unforgettable moments and iconic matches. In 1991, Australia defeated England in the final match to become the second team to win the tournament. Four years later, South Africa emerged as the champion, with captain Francois Pienaar famously receiving the trophy from President Nelson Mandela.

In 2003, England defeated Australia in the final match. They became the first northern hemisphere team to win the Rugby World Cup. In 2007, South Africa once again emerged as the champion, defeating England in the final match. And in 2011, New Zealand won their second Rugby World Cup, defeating France in the final match.

The 2019 the Finals was held in Japan and featured some of the best teams in the world. In the final match, South Africa defeated England to become the champion for the third time. The match was a closely contested affair, but Africa ultimately came out on top thanks to a dominant performance by their forward pack.

The Rugby World Cup Finals is an exciting and thrilling event that brings together the best teams in the world to compete for the ultimate prize in rugby. The final match is always a highly competitive and physical game. Whether you are a die-hard rugby fan or just a casual spectator, the Rugby World Cup Finals is an event that you won’t want to miss.

Try our Rugby World Cup Final quiz and see how many you can get correct out of 10.

Challenge your friends and see who is the champion.


Which of these teams has made any Rugby World Cup Final appearances?


Which player holds the record for scoring the most points in a Rugby World Cup Final


Which of these teams has won the least World Cups?


Which of these countries has supplied the most World Cup Final referees?


Which final had the highest attendance?


Has a player ever scored two or more tries in a World Cup Final?


What was the score in the 2011 World Cup Final?


What is the largest win margin in World Cup Final history?


How many World Cup Final matches have gone to extra time?


Which was the last final where either team scored 2 or more tries?

Be sure to click Submit Quiz to see your results!